New Year Honours 2018

BACR President, Professor Margaret Frame, has been awarded an OBE in the 2018 New Year Honours List

The BACR would like to congratulate their President, Professor Margaret Frame, who is also the Director of the MRC Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine and co-Director of the Cancer Research UK Edinburgh Centre. Professor Frame has been awarded an OBE in the 2018 New Year Honours list for services to cancer research.

Margaret graduated with a first class honours BSc in Biochemistry, followed by a PhD from the Medical Faculty, both at the University of Glasgow. She worked for a brief period in industry, and then joined the MRC Virology Unit in Glasgow as a post-doctoral scientist until 1987. After taking time to raise three children, Margaret returned to work at the Beatson Institute for Cancer Research in 1991, as a post-doc and then as a group leader.

In 1995, she was jointly appointed as Professor of Cancer Research in the Faculty of Biological Sciences at the University of Glasgow and the Beatson Institute, where she became Deputy Director in 2002.

She was awarded the Tenovus Medal in 1999 for her work on Src family kinases, was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2002, an EMBO Member in 2008 and a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2010.

Margaret joined the new MRC-University of Edinburgh Institute of Genetics and Molecular Medicine in October 2007. She co-directs the Edinburgh Cancer Research Centre in Edinburgh University’s College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine, with the role of Science Director in the recently established Cancer Research UK Centre from January 2010.

Margaret joined the BACR as President in 2014 and has given invaluable advice and support to the Association in her time with us.

BACR Retired Chair Caroline Dive honoured by the Queen in New Year’s Honours 2018

In the 2018 New Year Honours list retired BACR Chair, Professor Caroline Dive has been named a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE). Professor Dive is a senior group leader at the Cancer Research UK Manchester Institute,

Caroline is internationally renowned for advancing circulating biomarker research, with a strong focus on circulating tumour cells (CTCs), particularly in lung cancer. She initially trained as a pharmacist at the University of London. She then studied for her PhD in Cambridge before taking a new Blood lectureship at Aston University in Birmingham. Caroline then obtained a Lister Institute fellowship, and moved to the University of Manchester where she set a group to study drug induced apoptosis. She became a full Professor in 2002 and moved to the CRUK Manchester Institute in 2003.

Currently, Caroline leads the Clinical and Experimental Pharmacology group (~70 staff) at the Cancer Research UK Manchester Institute, coordinating activities of scientists, bioinformaticians and clinicians. She has validated and implemented pharmacodynamic, prognostic and predictive biomarkers in clinical trials, working in tandem with clinical researchers and the Christie NHS Foundation Trust Cancer Treatment Centre. Her team has integrated reproducible protocols for the molecular profiling of CTCs into clinical trials, enhanced sample analysis for multi-site trials, and developed methods for circulating free DNA and CTC analysis from the same blood sample.

She developed unique xenotransplantation models using CTCs enriched from small cell lung cancer patients’ blood samples, providing a fully tractable system for therapy testing and understanding drug resistance mechanisms, a landmark development in the field. Within the CRUK-funded TRACERx consortium, a pioneering study of intratumoural heterogeneity and evolution of non-small cell lung cancer, she directs the CTC analysis within the consortium and is developing the first NSCLC CTC Biobank worldwide. She is the Manchester lead of the CRUK Lung Cancer Centre of Excellence, a partnership with University College London, and the scientific-lead of the Manchester Experimental Cancer Medicine Centre.

Caroline has received recognition in terms of international prizes, most notably the CRUK Translational Research Prize in 2011, the Pasteur-Weizmann/Servier International Prize in 2012 for minimally invasive biomarkers to aid management of cancer patients and the BPS AstraZeneca Prize for Women in Pharmacology in 2016. She was made a Fellow of the European Academy of Cancer Sciences in 2011, Fellow of the British Pharmacological Society in 2012 and Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2015.

The BACR wish to congratulate both Margaret and Caroline for their awards received in recognition of their work in Cancer Resesearch.